Posted by: RAPV | April 5, 2012

Local school wins NAR’s School of the Future statewide competition. Students honored at April 4 breakfast meeting.

Top Honors!  At the Apr 4 brkfst mtg held at Castle of Knights in Chicopee, students from St. Michael’s Academy in Springfield were recognized for their statewide award-winning School of the Future project.  140 members were present to hear about the project and share in the students’ enthusiasm. 
The Project – The annual competition challenges middle school students to design their version of a school of the future which will enhance student learning, including green technologies, while encouraging community involvement.  The project is so-sponsored by NAR and the Council of Educational Facility Planners Int’l (CEFPI).  By winning the state competition, and coming in second at the regional level, the school receives $250 from NAR.  To offer the idea to a school in your area, go to
Indelible Memories – Comments by the school’s Head Administrator Nelly de Carvalho include, “We were very honored to be recognized by RAPV. Our young people felt incredibly special.  Please know that your wonderful Association created indelible memories for our 8th graders.”
Top row L to R: Brian Sears RAPV President-Elect (he brought the idea to the school), Ben Scranton, RAPV Executive Vice President, Nam Pham, Owen Cosenke, Brian McCrae, Brendan Markey, Ms. Sylvia Kaimi (teacher and project moderator). Bottom row L to R: Corinne Fitzgerald, RAPV President, Nelly de Carvalho, AnnaMarie Gregory, Tara Bateman, Julianna Campbell, Andrew Foley and Bao Kim.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: